Softball Travels To Southern Indiana This Weekend For Midwest Region Crossover

Softball Travels To Southern Indiana This Weekend For Midwest Region Crossover

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio Dominican's softball team will travel to the University of Southern Indiana this weekend to compete in the Midwest Region Crossover. The Panthers will face five teams from the Great Lakes Valley Conference and Kentucky Wesleyan out of the Great Midwest Athletic Conference, playing six games overall in the span of three days.

ODU (3-3, 0-0 GLIAC) will meet Kentucky Wesleyan for the second time this season on Friday at 12 p.m. EST/11 a.m. CST and will face McKendree for the second time in 2017 on Friday at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CST. On Saturday, the Panthers will square off against Southern Indiana at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CST, followed by their second meeting of the year with Truman at 4 p.m. EST/3 p.m. CST. Finally, the Panthers will wrap up the weekend with contests on Sunday against Drury at 11 a.m. EST/10 a.m. CST and the squad's second meeting of the year with Bellarmine at 1 p.m. EST/12 p.m. CST.

About Ohio Dominican

Last weekend, the Panthers picked up three victories over Montevallo, Bellarmine and McKendree in competition at the Music City Invitational in Hendersonville, Tennessee. Ohio Dominican ended the weekend with a 3-1 victory over Bellarmine and a 9-1 victory in six innings over McKendree on Sunday, and enters this weekend having won three of their last five contests.

Freshman Cameron Barber (Powell, Ohio) picked up GLIAC Pitcher of the Week honors thanks to her performance in the Music City Invitational. Barber pitched three scoreless innings against Montevallo and surrendered just one run on four hits against Bellarmine. The Panthers will look for strong efforts in the circle from sophomore Abby Lamping (Cleves, Ohio), junior Bailey Miller (Cincinnati, Ohio) and senior Casey Murdoch (Morrow, Ohio), who combined to pitch over 40 innings for ODU at the Music City Invitational.

Junior Taylor Kline (Bellville, Ohio) is off to a strong start this season, going 11-for-24 at the plate at the Music City Invitational to post a .458 batting average, also stealing three bases.

The Panthers will also look for contributions from junior Liz Sutter (Mansfield, Ohio) and senior Kelly Wallace (Oshkosh, Wisconsin), who are each batting over .300 thus far.

About Kentucky Wesleyan

Kentucky Wesleyan is 4-4 on the season and picked up a 7-6 win in nine innings over Ohio Dominican this past weekend at the Music City Invitational. KWU has won three-straight entering its contest with ODU on Friday.

About McKendree

McKendree is 5-4 overall this season, with ODU defeating the Bearcats, 9-1 in six innings on Sunday, February 19.

About Southern Indiana

The Screaming Eagles picked up two victories in a doubleheader against North Alabama on Tuesday, February 14 to begin the season with 2-0 mark.

About Truman

The Bulldogs are 3-5 to start the 2017 season, picking up a 3-1 victory over Ohio Dominican on Saturday, February 18 at the Music City Invitational.

About Drury

Drury is 2-6 to start 2017, dropping its last three contests after competing in eight games during the Eight State Classic in Bentonville, Arkansas.  

About Bellarmine

The Knights are 6-6 thus far on the season, earning a hard-fought, 3-1 win over Ohio Dominican on Sunday, February 19 at the Music City Invitational.

Contact: Aaron McPherson
mcphersa@ohiodominican.edu