Four From Women’s Soccer Named To Great Midwest All-Conference Teams

Four From Women’s Soccer Named To Great Midwest All-Conference Teams


INDIANAPOLIS — Ohio Dominican's women's soccer team saw a conference-high three first team All-Great Midwest Athletic Conference selections while also garnering a second team All-Great Midwest award, the conference announced Wednesday night at its semifinalists banquet at Ohio Valley University.

Senior midfielder Lauren Bates (Hilliard, Ohio), freshman defender Lindsay Buten (Cincinnati, Ohio) and junior goalkeeper Marissa Wierzbicki (Powell, Ohio) all were named first team all-conference. Senior forward Alli Pavlik (Cortland, Ohio) garnered second team all-conference honors.

Bates has anchored the Panther midfield in her season with ODUWS after scoring over 1,000 points for the women's basketball squad in her time from 2013-17. Bates boasts 14 goals for the season and has found the back of the net in six-straight matches. She has scored or assisted on Panther goals in seven-consecutive contests and ranks third in the conference in points with 31. Her 14 goals rank second in the Great Midwest and third in program history for goals in a single season.

The Panther defense has held opponents to just 0.94 goals per match this season thanks in part to the efforts of Buten and Wierzbicki. Buten has started in all 19 matches for ODU at defender and has limited the opposition to just over four shots on goal per match this season. Wierzbicki has stopped 77 percent of the shots she's faced this season, notching 49 saves en route to 14 wins with a goals against average of 1.04.

Pavlik has scored nine goals in just 13 matches for the Panthers. She is currently third all-time in ODUWS history in career goals scored (28) and ranks second in the conference in game winning goals with five on the year.

The four all-conference selections represent the most for the Panthers since the 2014 squad earned seven All-GLIAC selections.

Ohio Dominican faces Walsh in the Great Midwest semifinals on Thursday at 11:30 a.m. and with a win, will compete for a conference championship on Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Contact: Aaron McPherson